Time organization snob

Yes, I am time organization snob.

I don’t like to arrive to my workplace even one minute later that the time I have figured out in my mind I have to be there. This is simple in Calgary. Walking distance is so short than the only random factors are the traffic lights and the snow. And I have the traffic lights pretty much controlled by now. It was slightly more difficult in Madrid. I had to cross the entire city in one of the worst ring roads traffic wise. But still, I managed to do it most of the time.

In order to do that I follow a very special ritual every morning. I have controlled what time to set the alarm depending if I have to shave or not (every two days). If my breakfast has been partially prepared the night before or not. If its a casual Friday or I need to be well suit. And kind of like the ritual.

But somehow I have translated this into some more habits in my life. I try to, every time I live my workplace, set up certain activities for the next morning. It helps me to understand how I am going to kick off the day. At the same time the first hours are the most productive ones and I have come to use some online tools for time organization and more and more I am fan of the iphone reminders. I also list the tasks I am completing day a day and, in the past, used the Pomodoro technic to help myself.

Not that much at all in my personal life, something I value a lot is the punctuality. As spaniard of course I am flexible with others in terms of this courtesy 5 minutes. Not with myself. If somebody, without an excuse, arrives late to an appointment in my personal life I automatically place this person into a non desirable bag.

Have to improve my habits though. Not everyone is like me and many people does not understand my habits.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment